The Priceless Gift

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Sunayana MoiPensieve. Thank you for our photo prompt!

Flash Fiction

That guitar was a gift from his mother. Today, he was heart-broken since the guitar was no longer with him.

Normally, on the commute Alex doesn’t sleep. But, today after his gruelling hours at work, he wasn’t able to stop himself from catnapping. But alas, when he arrived at the destination the priceless guitar was nowhere to be found.He was all of six, when he was gifted & he safeguarded it like a special companion.He took it with him always, polished it before he slept.

Mournful of the loss,he arrived at his doorstep.Lo & Behold! There to his joy was the guitar with a note. It read, “Brother, after having stolen, realizing that it was a gift from your mother, my conscience wouldn’t let me have it . With regret & shame,I return it,never to steal again.I had no one to guide, for I had lost my mum years ago”.

(162 words)

10 Comments

  1. Great that the thief came to his senses or should I say his conscience was sufficiently pricked. Losing a priceless gift like that is heartbreaking. Lovely take.

    I am leaving a link of my YouTube video in the comments. Thank you for checking it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

