Sun has set

P.C :- Unsplash ; Ruth Enyedi

A home away from home,
it took years to build,
the comforts, name and fame.
when i look behind,
i see a part of myself longing,
longing which is lost forever,
to a world that’s created by me.
created by me in a land far away, from my own,
i own the accolades, and yet do i own the joy,
away from home, i build my comforts,
but do i share with ones i call my own.
i thought of returning one day,
but years kept rolling to a point of no return.

i triumph on my accomplishments,
in a land away from home,
and yet offsprings don’t understand that longing,
and parents don’t feel the joy,
caught in between nothing and everything,
i see a shadow of myself,
of myself that’s left behind,
of myself that’s come to conquer,
longing to be there, i see the sun that’s come to set,
i know that, it’s about to rise and shine for you!

Alas!

Acknowledgements :- Written in response to Napowrimo where the topic is to write a poem taking inspiration from a book that we’ve read long back. This book is based on my favourite book , “The Namesake” by Jhumpa Lahiri. It explores the joys and sorrow experienced by the protagonist and his wife as they settle in America away from their hometown in West Benegal, India.

11 thoughts on “Sun has set

Add yours

    1. 🀭oops….sent before completing by mistake πŸ₯΄
      thank you for this intriguing share … haven’t read the book but tempted by your wonderful poem. 🀍
      lovely, Kitty…and apologies again 😬

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

7eyedwonder

Poetry Writing Month and Beyond

Smoke words every day.

The home of poetry

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Helping You To Succeed

Write the vision; make in plain

Mom With a Blog

βœοΈπŸ™πŸΌβœ¨πŸŒΈ

The Truth About Tigers

free verse poetry, approximately

life stories

my views.. my way